Burning the candle in both ends

by davidnielsen

In an effort to ease fitting into Brazilian society some day soon, I will be starting evening school classes in Portuguese starting in September, I am a little bit nervous about the added stress of starting both college and these additional classes at the same time but mostly I am excited to learn.

When I was in Brazil this summer, I had naively hoped at least in the hotel and resturants I would be able to find a way to make english work, I knew that on the street I wouldn’t have much hope but even people whose jobs would encompass meeting tourists like myself didn’t really speak english. So for the next time I go, hopefully soon, I hope I will be able to handle myself a little better rather than rely on my poor girlfriend to act as a translator.