Shit, Piss, Fuck, Cunt, Cocksucker, Motherfucker, Tits.

The late, great George Carlins 7 dirty words uttered after returning from vacation in Brazil to find 700 GB of data gone as a result of one drive failing in my RAID0. What makes matters worse is that my vendor just filed for chapter 11 Bankruptcy protection so RMA’ing the drive (or the motherboard if closer inspection reveals the controller to be the cause) is not an appealing option till some kind of resolution has come to that situation. My DVD burner appears to have died in the same round of destruction which just adds to the fun and games.

This is definitely the last time I build my own machine, I am tired of RMA’ing seperately broken pieces. I will also start looking into something like Amazon S3 to backup my data. given the size the undertaking is rather vast but eventually I hope to prevent this kind of thing from ever happening again. I am tired of not being able to rely on my data being safe, I have had computers for more years than is wise to recount and even though in the past I bought cheap components I have never had this kind of issue. This however marks the second harddrive to fail on me in a year – stability sure isn’t what is used to be – this time I specifically bought quality hardware in the hope that it would survive and yet.. death ensued.

So I’m sad that I had to leave my girlfriend behind in Brazil, knowing I probably won’t see her for another year, and then I get this present as a welcome home instead of a sexy 25 day Rawhide update.. *sob*.

Oh and my phone died during the vacation so I don’t have that either anymore – sorry. I think technology declared some kind of vengeful jihad on me.