Re: Linux Matters

by davidnielsen

So I was quoted in some kind of official Mozilla blog. As Robert calls me on that list let’s have a go, just a few off the top of my head:

* Use my environments icons, don’t just ship Tango – if Epiphany can do it, you can do it.
* It is not up to us to standardise on a theme, it’s up to you to pick up the native look (this was seriously given as a reason for looking like shit on Linux in the original blogpost to which Nicu replied)
* Don’t go around the systems package manager, you are not allowed special status just because you are Firefox – PackageKit should make this easier. Goes for both plugins and the browser updates. It makes me uncomfortable that a program with as many security problems as Firefox thinks it’s a good idea for it to install plugins and manage the version of it that is installed. We have a package manager to handle that for you, and we trust our developers – just make is as easy as possible to package up plugins. It’s not that I don’t trust you.. but I don’t trust you. I don’t care if you released a new version, if I installed it, it will break half my desktop – that is why my distribution does all that for me.
* Conform to the HIG as much as possible.
* Don’t reinvent the wheel when it comes to translations please (OpenOffice.org you are also guilty), it makes it really hard to contribute and to get consistent translations done across the desktop.
* Why are my web buttons so ugly (supposedly this works in 3.0, I’ll believe it when I see it on my desktop).
* When you show off new features, don’t consistently forget to post plans and screenshots from Linux which is what started the vocal criticism this time around, it makes us feel like you don’t love us.

And remember we can only speak of the version of Firefox deemed stable enough to be in our desktops, so development version don’t really mean anything to us – we speak from the version we use, the 2.x series current has nasty integration issues (not to mention resource consumption, start up performance and stability issues). Firefox 3 might very well be nicer in some aspects, I’ll know once it’s available on from Fedora not a second before.