Logitech Z-5450 Digital 5.1 review

by davidnielsen

My stereo died the other day, in a swift decision I decided that music was not something I was prepared to go without for long. So I ordered the Logitech Z-5450 Digital 5.1 speaker set, and had it delivered the very same evening. Overall I am very pleased with the speakers, I’ve played a bunch of music and movies to exercise them, however due to an issue with the built in sound card on my Shuttle I can’t seem to get 5.1 running (bug filed and it’s just a stopgap measure while I wait for the TerraTec USB sound card to arrive). The sound is crisp and clear without distortion, the bass is as it should be. The system is very easy to setup and use, as a bonus the rear speakers are wirelessly connected to the control station so you won’t have to drag ugly wires all across the room – the one downside is that you then have to accomidate the power cable instead. This wireless system works without any issues and right out of the box as the system is paired at the factory (I suspect they are using bluetooth but I haven’t investigated yet).

The speakers are THX certified, but this seems more like marketing ploy to me, as I recall from an audio engineer friend of mine who works testing systems like that all over the world, to get the THX certification the entire room must conform to certain standards to ensure the optimal sound experience. Regardless for home speakers in the affordable range the Z-5450 is a damn good buy, in fact so much so that I only have one real complaint about the system. The wall mounts are both some what flimsy and can’t be adjusted very well, to ensure that the sound gets directed properly I’d like to be able to mount the speaker securely and be able to adjust it on all 3 axises, because this is not possible my rear speakers are now mounted in a best effort mode which required some modifications to the mounting system. This modification certainly did nothing to improve the elegance of the installation but the speakers themselves are small and wife friendly, you should have no problem getting permission to screw these babies in the wall guys. The sub woofer might need a nice bit of creative hiding for wifey not to complain though, but that’s to be expected.

And no, I don’t get any money from anyone, I geniunely like these speakers and paid for them out of my own pocket. Now back to listening to music.