Right on Nicu

by davidnielsen

Nicu, for once we are in full agreement.

Using Mozilla is strikingly similar to being the unwilling participant in a hardcore BDSM relationship. It does not integrate, it’s slow – launching alone on this Zonbu (slightly better specs than the XO-1) will set you back just around a minute… a minute for a frikkin browser and let’s not get into the actual usage experience of which I have nightmares on a quite frequent basis. Despite promises of becoming more resource efficient over the years, users still today experience the delightfully quaint behavior in which Firefox goes “Sorry, I has eated your memory”.

I use Epiphany since it has a nice GNOME interface, it leverages my environment and the second the WebKit backend becomes a possibility on Fedora I will be switching over, it’s long been the focus of those dreams of freedom for me to remove myself of the shackles that is Gecko. Though given the level which Gecko been tied to my desktop for general html rendering purposes so far I realize the liberation will not be complete just yet but at least my number one tool, my web browser, will cease to infuriate me.

Colin, you’re a nice guy, please don’t tell me you think hardcoding icons is a good way to do integration. If Epiphany can do it, Firefox should to. The list of things Firefox could do to improve integration with the underlying environment goes on and on, the fact that they elected to debate the potential of using one set of icons (though a beautiful and awe inspiring one) just moves the issue to a whole other segment of users (Fedora e.g. doesn’t use Tango by default so by default.. Firefox doesn’t integrate). This is a solution worthy of the most wasteful government agencies, a 50$ spanner, it fails to solve the problem yet they sell it to us as improving our experience and expect us to be thankful that they even bother.

I don’t deny that Firefox on Windows is decent but I feel this is more a reaction to the plain awfulness of IE. However it geniunely seems that Mozilla does not care about Linux the slightest, despite the grotesk love affair most distros have with this specific program (let’s not get into the “people are used to Firefox on Windows and switch to Linux because it’s present here” non-sense which keeps Firefox’ stranglehold on our desktop).

I happen to think that KDE, Nokia, Collabora and many others including Apple collaborate to make excellent technology for our purposes in WebKit and that they also make good friends to our community.

We should liberate ourselves and remove the number one offender on our desktop. It’s time to refuse the kool-aid, even if it will be served by a beloved friend now.