The big blue searching for ‘em UFOs and other stuff

by davidnielsen

It’s true, IBM are now trying to help us find the paranormal. It’s no secret that I’m a scientific skeptic so in the interest of saving valuable CPU cycles which could be used for say simulating protein folding or other things that might be advancing mankind I’ll offer them a shortcut.

Carl Sagan’ The Demon-Haunted World, I bought it a few weeks ago in a book binge and I’ve been reading it over the last few nights, absolutely one of the best books I’ve had the chance to read in recent history. It clearly outlines why skepticism is important in navigating the world, a truly joyful tale of how science shines a light on the cosmos and make it sparkle to facinate us all. I genuinely think every person should read this.

The book binge also contained James Randi’ Flim-Flam! Psychics, ESP, Unicorns, and Other Delusions, Michael Shermer’ Why People Believe Weird Things: Pseudoscience, Superstition, and Other Confusions of Our Time and two book by Victor J. Stenger God: The Failed Hypothesis. How Science Shows That God Does Not Exist and The Comprehensible Cosmos: Where Do the Laws of Physics Come From?

I’m especially looking forward to reading the last one, I’ve always had a facination with how things work – I was always the kid who’d take his toys apart to see what made them tick, I’ll admit my ability to put them back together could improve vastly even today so reading a theory about how the Laws of Physics work and how they came into being has to be the peak of taking things apart.. let’s hope I don’t break anything this time.

My good friend Peter Gordon has been teaching me some RPM building tricks so I’ve been taking on building UFO: Alien Invasion but while it builds it doesn’t actually run yet. I’ve been chatting to upstream about possible fixes for the issues I uncovered. Regardless the game looks really cool, I remember playing the original UFO: Enemy Unknown which this is a modern remake of, fond memories of a misspend youth.

For the last week or so I’ve been having really awful performance issues on Development, it seemed to go away after a reboot then slowly get worse. I figured something was leaking but I never was able to catch it in the act. Today I finally caught yum-updatesd eating more then 150mb of memory and continually growing. Killing it makes things much nicer but I’m seeing a steadly increasing memory use, at least now it’s not increasing to the point where both my ram and my swap are filled up and the setup becomes unuable. I wish I knew how to properly debug these issues.. I’m better at getting things to crash.

Submitted danish translation for Ross Burtons Tasks tool.. can’t wait for the day when I can kill Evolution and replace it with a more functional and integrated tool.. Evolution can hardly stay up for 5 mins at the time due to #227288. Could someone please call Dr. Kevorkian, I’d like Evolution to be put down – it’s suffering and deserves to die with what little dignity it has left.