Rumblings in translationland

by davidnielsen

I’ve been a member of the danish translation team for a while now, I have however not been frightfully active on the official mailinglist for a number of reasons. Mainly because I got better feedback and tools via Ubuntu’ Rosetta tool and I didn’t want to mock around with the politics of the traditional team. They have some rather strange ideas as to the default translations that generally in my opinion and the opinion of many others hurt the user experience.

Rather than continuing a futile fight with these people which would be unproductive, I and a number of other translators jumped ship and started using Rosetta. Sure that only gets work into Ubuntu (and as a Fedora user that annoys me but I can’t have everything). The result is that there’s a great difference between the Danish implementation in Ubuntu and upstream. More work being done towards producing a complete and consistent offering within Ubuntu without adoption upstream means that Ubuntu users enjoy what we consider a much better product or at least a product where work is ongoing. In comparison no work has been reviewed by the official team since June.

The lastest chapter in said story is that the administrator of the Ubuntu team took all privillages away from every user because he, as a high ranking member on the official team, wants to force everyone to join forces. An admirable goal but doing so by force and stuffing their policy down our throats doesn’t seem like the way to do it. Especially since there’s no apparent willingness to increase the workpace or change translation policy to be userfriendly.

End result, no work is being done and lots of bickering as I’m trying to get some kind of agreement going to at least let the Rosetta team regain the rights they used to have or get the needed changes in place to allow us to work together rather than having one group suffucate the other.

I’ve literally gone from reviewing 3 programs a night to doing nothing but debate language use. The sad thing is that the only thing that’s coming of this whole mess is that our users suffer… way to go. Sometimes I wonder why free software even works.