On Piracy and other stuff on my mind

by davidnielsen

I’m a big fan of documentaries, it’s just one of those things that make me strange I guess. One of the better ones I’ve seen lately is On Piracy, a Canadian student film on the issue of piracy using P2P programs (yarrr).

The film is even under a Creative Commons license so share away without shame or guilt. More information.

Another thing I love is watching conference videos and since I can’t attend GUADEC this year either, I’m hopeful that we’ll get some good streams of the talks. For those sharing this strangeness the Boston FUDCon 2006 videos can be found here – lots of interesting talks perserved in pristine Ogg Theora files which will play on your out of the box Fedora Core.

My copy of Linux Quick Fix Notebook arrived today. It’s written by the admin on one of the forums I hang out on, OpenFree.org which was how I learned of the book in the first place. I plan to write up a review when I’m done reading it. I’ve been looking for a book I could recommend for newcomers so hopefully this will be it.

Random thought of the day: I think I might just hate #179862